Never Let Me Go:: Just See It

I know I said that’d I’d write about the Big Bear Film Festival Documentaries, but I just have to say a little something about this new movie I saw called Never Let Me Go.

Never Let Me Go was recommended to me by a friend and fellow movie buff.  She told me to avoid reading anything about it and just go see it.  So I did.  Wow.  If you can keep from hearing anything about the plot before you see it, do, it makes a powerful story so much more powerful.  I intentionally didn’t post the preview that is on IMdb because I feel it gives too much away.  I know that “avoid hearing anything about this movie” seems to include reading this review, but I will be ever so careful to avoid all the important land mines.

What I can tell you is that it stars Carey Mulligan, (An Education and I am completely in love with her ever since her episode of Doctor Who a couple of years back called Blink), Kiera Knightly (Pride and Prejudice, Pirates of the Caribbean) and Andrew Garfield (the upcoming Spiderman 3, The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus).  I can also say that it’s based on a novel by Kazuo Ishiguro, a Japanese man raised in England.  Ishiguro also wrote The Remains of the Day and Never Let Me Go is nothing like it in story, only in gentleness.

The casting of the younger versions of the above mentioned stars was impressive, even certain mannerisms and rhythms of speech were subtly present.  I know this is a minor detail but it always takes me out of a movie when I am meant to believe that people who look nothing alike are related and that younger versions of people on screen are really that person.  And I hate being taken out of the story.  I want to believe and I think it’s lazy when the filmmakers don’t go to enough effort to help me out.  Having said that, what are the odds of finding a younger actor that seems like the older actor and can act?  Seems mighty high to me, so maybe I’m being unreasonable.  Having said that Never Let Me Go‘s filmmakers did manage and that I find commendable.

The story is a little slow moving, but that lends itself well to the material.  There is an aspect of the film that is rarely seen in movies these days, more often in novels, that makes you constantly wonder about a lot of things and that seems to keep the audience engaged in the story despite its pacing.  I can’t reveal what it is, but I do hope that I’ve been clear enough here that when you see it, you’ll know what I am referring to.

One last thing I can say is that the concept of this film will stay with you.  I’d love to hear from anyone who’s read the book.  I am curious about any major differences because the story is seamless.  I also think that Carey Mulligan needs to get her dress for the Oscars because I do think she’ll be going yet again.

Leave a Reply

